Work is a daily reality for most adults including those in Colorado which is why Colorado workers should be familiar with all the workplace protections available to them. Workers’ compensation is a primary protection for Colorado workers injured on the job or suffering from an occupational illness so they should be familiar with the ways they are protected.
Colorado law requires employers with one or more full-time or part-time employees to carry workers’ compensation disability insurance for their employees who may be harmed at work by a workplace injury or work-related illness. Once a workplace accident has occurred, the injured worker has 4 days to notify their employer of the workplace injury they have suffered, however, the injured worker has 2 years to file a claim for workers’ compensation benefits. The notice must be in writing to the employer and the employer has 10 days to report the injury to their insurance carrier.
Workers’ compensation benefits that may be available to injured workers and their families in Colorado include benefits for healthcare expenses needed to treat the injured worker’s injuries or illness; and wage compensation based on if the injured worker is suffering from a temporary disability that prevents them from working or permanent disability. In addition, death benefits can help surviving family members of workers who are killed by a workplace accident or illness with weekly payments and by paying for funeral expenses.
In addition to steps that must be followed to claim workers’ compensation benefits, there is also a process to appeal a denial of workers compensation benefits if a claim is not accepted and the injured worker or their family believes it should have been. Workers harmed on the job and their families must be familiar with all of the ins and outs of the workers’ compensation process to ensure they receive the help they need when they need it.